Melodic Treks 48: From Whose Bourn No Traveler Returns / by Trek fm

A Musical Journey to the Sadder Side of Trek.

Running Time: 42 minutes 0 seconds
Download / RSS / Send us a message / Discuss the show / Support

The Star Trek franchise is filled with epic heroes who overcome conflict and battles—even when the odds are stacked against them. It is a universe filled with hope and optimism in which humanity can achieve anything. Every once in a while, however, they are called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice.

In this episode of Melodic Treks, host Brandon-Shea Mutala takes a look at the music that transports us to the sadder side of Star Trek, focusing on the ways in which composers honor fallen heroes.


Intro (00:00:00)
"Tasha's Goodbye" (from "Skin of Evil," composed by R. Jones) (00:02:19)
"He's Toast" (from "Life Support," composed by D. McCarthy) (00:05:59)
"Spock (Dies)" (from Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, composed by J. Horner) (00:08:41)
"Amazing Grace" (from Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, composed by J. Horner) (00:10:30)
"Picard's Nightmare" (from "The Best of Both Worlds, Part II,” composed by R. Jones) (00:12:20)
"Labour of Love" (from Star Trek, composed by M. Giacchino) (00:13:32)
"The Death of Gorkon" (from Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country, composed by C. Eidleman) (00:15:19)
"Sarek Drifts Away" (from "Unification, Part I," composed by D. McCarthy) (00:17:38)
"Painful Revelations" (from "Dark Page," composed by J. Chattaway) (00:20:38)
"The Captain of the Enterprise (Kirk's Death)" (from Star Trek Generations, composed by D. McCarthy) (00:24:45)
"A New Friend" (from Star Trek: Nemesis, composed by J. Goldsmith) (00:27:40)
"Trip Hurt" (from "These Are the Voyages…" composed by D. Mccarthy and K. Kiner) (00:30:24)
"One Last Visit" (from "The Visitor," composed by D. McCarthy) (00:33:29)


Brandon-Shea Mutala


Brandon-Shea Mutala (Editor and Producer) C Bryan Jones (Executive Producer) Matthew Rushing (Executive Producer) Norman C. Lao (Executive Producer) Charlynn Schmiedt (Executive Producer) Bobby Tucker (Associate Producer) Richard Marquez (Production Manager) Will Nguyen (Content Manager)